2017 Board of Directors Election Results

You are here

For Immediate Release

June 05, 2017

Goldbelt, Incorporated—Announces 2017 Board of Directors Election Results and New Officers

Juneau, Alaska— Goldbelt, Inc. held its 43rd Annual Meeting of Shareholders on June 3, 2017, at Centennial Hall in Juneau.  The three directors up for election were Joseph E. Kahklen, Randy Wanamaker, and Andrea Cadiente-Laiti.  This year, eight shareholders ran as candidates for the open board seats. 

Two new members to the board of directors, Lori Grant and Leilani Wilson Walkush, will replace the board seats held by Joseph E. Kahklen and Randy Wanamaker. Andrea Cadienete-Laiti was re-elected to the board. The newly elected board members were sworn in at the annual meeting and will serve a three-year term. 

The board of directors immediately convened after the meeting and held a reorganization meeting to elect new officers.  Ben Coronell was elected Board Chair while Katherine Eldemar was elected Vice Chair. Richard A. Beasley was elected Treasurer and Lisa-Marie Ikonomov was elected Secretary. Other board members include Andrea Cadiente-Laiti, Derek Duncan, Leilani Wilson Walkush, Lori Grant, and Trudy Skan.

“I am very humbled that my fellow board members have selected me as the next Chairman of the Board,” said Ben Coronell. “With the uncertainty of federal, state, and local budgets and the declining economy – Goldbelt continues to grow. Currently, Alaska Business Monthly ranked Goldbelt at number 15 on the Top 49’ers list. I predict we will continue to climb higher. The political and business landscape is changing. Most of Goldbelt’s revenue comes from government contracts, but we are exploring new business opportunities. Goldbelt continues to support and develop employment, training, and educational opportunities for shareholders and their descendants. It will be an exciting year!”

Goldbelt. Inc. recognizes and thanks, former Directors for their service to the company. Randy Wanamaker served 24 years on the board and Joseph Kahklen served 35 years on the board. Kahklen was one of the original signatures to incorporate Goldbelt in 1972 under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act and was the first Chief Executive Officer of the company.

Headquartered in Juneau, Goldbelt, Inc. has more than 3,700 shareholders and was established under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act. 

Shareholders News

Keep abreast of Goldbelt, Inc. Shareholder news on our news pages.